Floating Harbour Films Work Experience Meeting

Today I had a meeting about possible work experience with a Corporate/Events Company called Floating Harbour Films. They are a small company which operates from a boat docked in Welsh Back, Bristol Harbour.

I got the contact through a uni pal, Alex who has been working there over the summer. The company are looking for Camera operatives for an event they have to film in the next few weeks called ‘Wild Screen’. Its a film festival focused on Wildlife films and photography.

I met the owners of Floating Harbour on their boat, we had a brief chat about my background and the sort of work i’m interested in, the boys ( Rich and Ben) explained to me that I will probably be acting as a runner and camera assistant during the week and possibly have to do some data transfer and running about with memory cards as we had such a tight schedule.

The thought of doing some running work and data wrangling really appeals to me right now, I have a heavy edit load and this would give me the opportunity to learn more about the back end processes of a professional company; how data is stored, logged and how they manage quick project turnarounds.

The meeting went pretty well I think and the owners seemed pretty fun to work with so I’m hoping to hear back to see if they will take me on for the week.

Leave a Reply

